Forward progress in remote sensing science and technology relies on the free exchange of results and ideas, as well as the dissemination of remotely sensed data acquired by ground-based, airborne, and spaceborne sensors. An important ingredient is the family of computer codes and algorithms used by scientists and engineers to analyze data, model and calibrate sensors, and relate the outputs of sensors to the physical parameters of the observed scenes. Scientific journals and meetings—such as the GRSS Transactions and the IGARSS symposia—play an important role in facilitating the exchange of scientific information, but their domains do not encompass computer codes. For the most part, remote sensing computer codes remain hidden from public view. But, no more!

The Remote Sensing Code Library (RSCL), is an IEEE GRSS initiative aimed at establishing a large family of remote sensing computer codes-- contributed by members of the remote sensing community and their host institutions—that can be shared by other members of the community, not only to verify and extend published results, but also to reduce the duplication of time and effort invested in the development of these codes. RSCL invites researchers to submit their codes, which will then be reviewed by an Editorial team to insure relevance and quality. Accepted codes become citable in the literature, just like journal publications; when an individual uses a code from the RSCL to generate results and then includes them in a journal or symposium publication, that user is expected to cite the code and its authors.

Our Team

RSCL is supported by and Editorial Team and a group of Champions:

The Editorial Team manages the review and publication processes, from the code submission stage, through the code evaluation process, and the final decision on whether or not to accept the submitted code for inclusion in the Remote Sensing Code Library. The Editorial Team is shown in the right margin.

The RSCL Champions are a group of highly dedicated reviewers who work with the Editorial Team to test submitted codes and evaluate their utility. The RSCL Champions are shown below.

RSCL Champions

Fran Fabra
Institute of Space Sciences (ICE)
Barcelona, Spain

Rolando Raqueño
Rochester Institute of Technology (RIT)
Rochester, New York

Il-Suek Koh
Inha University
Incheon, South Korea

Joel T. Johnson
Ohio State University (OSU)
Columbus, Ohio

Alejandro Monsivais
Instituto Politecnico Nacional
Université de Sherbrooke
Mexico City, Mexico

Christian Kummerow
Colorado State University
Fort Collins, Colorado

Morten Wergeland
Nansen Environmental and
Remote Sensing Center
Bergen, Norway

Christoph Borel-Donohue
US Army Research Laboratory
University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Akira Hirose
The University of Tokyo
Tokyo, Japan

Kun-Shan Chen
Institute of Remote Sensing and Digital Earth (RADI)
Chinese Academy, Beijing, China

Tien-Hao Liao
California Institute of Technology
Pasadena, California

Jeremy Nicoll
University of Alaska Fairbanks

Haonan Chen
NOAA Earth System Research Laboratory
Colorado State University
Boulder, Colorado

Feng Xu
Fudan University
Shanghai, China

Marco Brogioni
Istituto di Fisica Applicata
"N. Carrara"
Sesto Fiorentino, Italy

Mary J. Brodzik
National Snow and Ice Data Center
Boulder, Colorado

Xiaolan Xu
Jet Propulsion Lab (JPL)
Pasadena, California

Editorial Team

Prof. David Long


Prof. Yang Du
Deputy Editor-In-Chief


Prof. John Kerekes
Associate Editor


Dr. Leland Pierce
Associate Editor


Dr. Javier Plaza
Associate Editor

Prof. Fawwaz Ulaby
Founding RSCL Editor